I need to talk to the school counsellor about my child. I’m sad about this because I know she’s busy with real McCoy problems much bigger than mine … and my child is not a priority. Its sad that I need to talk to her because my child is doing well. She’s bright and is doing well, she’s really willing to please, she really wants to do the right thing, a loves school kind of kid … who now is retreating to her books.

I need to talk the counsellor about her anxiety. I didn’t know she was anxious before she started school. Quite confident I thought she was. But now, she’s worried … her hat isn’t in the right place, her homework isn’t finished, she might lose her book, what if she says the wrong thing, will you come with me please? will you ask for me please?

She cries … not because something is wrong, because something *might be* wrong. School is scary now. In year 1, she cries, turns away, takes a breath. It’s not ok to cry. In year 1 … she learned she *must not* cry. She turns, takes a breath.

Is this what we teach our children? to turn away and take a breath?

Yes, I understand resilience, does it have to be such a tough lesson? for someone so young? who are we learning to deal with? Why do we have to ‘put on our armour’ to walk into; school, work, home? Who do we live with? Why are we so hard on each other?

